## COMMUNITY ONCOLOGY ALLIANCE



Dedicated to Advocating for Community Oncology Patients and Practices 1225 New York Avenue, NW, Suite 600, Washington, D.C. 20005 (202) 729-8147 | communityoncology.org

March 18, 2024

The Honorable Jodey Arrington Chairman, House Budget Committee 204 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Community Oncology Alliance Support of The Dr. Michael C. Burgess Re: Preventative Health Savings Act (H.R. 766)

Dear Chairman Arrington:

On behalf of the Board of Directors of the Community Oncology Alliance ("COA"), we applaud the House Budget Committee for advancing The Dr. Michael C. Burgess Preventative Health Savings Act (H.R. 766) to a floor vote of this important bipartisan legislation sponsored by Congressman Dr. Burgess with Congresswoman Diana DeGette.

As you know, COA is an organization dedicated to advocating for the complex care and access needs of patients with cancer and the community oncology practices that serve them. COA is the only non-profit organization in the United States dedicated solely to independent community oncology practices, which serve the majority of Americans receiving treatment for cancer. Since its grassroots founding over 20 years ago, COA's mission has been to ensure that patients with cancer receive quality, affordable, and accessible cancer care in their own communities where they live and work, regardless of their racial, ethnic, demographic, or socioeconomic status.

The limitation of the 10-year scoring window is a severe obstacle to realizing the savings from preventive health care legislation. It is unrealistic to expect that many, if not most, preventative health care initiatives can return positive savings by 10 years. As a result of the current scoring mandate on the Congressional Budget Office, many, if not most, preventative health care initiatives are not implemented because of funding constraints.

With cancer, we have more effective treatments, but it is essential that we look for ways of preventing this disease that impacts so many Americans. Unfortunately, artificial scoring mandates undermine the adoption of preventive care initiatives. As a result, COA supports the passage of H.R. 766, and we greatly appreciate your work and that of your staff in the landmark advancement of this legislation out of your committee.

Sincerely,

Ted Okon **Executive Director** 

Ja Olion

President

Miriam Atkins, MD, FACP Georgia

**Vice President** 

Debra Patt, MD, PhD, MBA

Secretary

S. McDonald Wade III, MD Virainia

Treasurer

Ricky Newton, CPA Virginia

**Executive Director** Ted Okon, MBA

Washington, D.C.

Directors

Lakshmi Aggarwal, MD Indiana

Aaron Ambrad, MD Arizona

Glenn Balasky

Colorado

Moshe Chasky, MD, FACP Pennsylvania

Michael Diaz, MD Florida

Stephen Divers, MD Arkansas

David Eagle, MD

New York

Stuart Genschaw, MHA, MBA Michigan

Robert Green, MD

Tennessee

Richard Ingram, MD Virainia

Anshu Jain, MD Kentucky

Terrill Jordan, LLM, J.D.

New Jersey

Dinesh Kapur, MD Connecticut

Gary Kay, MD

Illinois

Ed Licitra, MD, PhD

New Jersey Joseph Lynch, MD

Pennsylvania

Barbara L. McAneny, MD

New Mexico

Mark Nelson, PharmD Washington

Todd O'Connell, MS, CMPE New York

Kathy Oubre, MS

Louisiana

Kashyap Patel, MD

South Carolina

Pareshkumar Patel, MD

Florida

Jeff Patton, MD

Jennifer Pichoske, MS, AOCNP

Alti Rahman, MHA, MBA, CSSBB Texas

Ravi Rao, MD

California

Marissa Rivera, MBA California

Barry Russo, MBA

Texas

Stephen Schleicher, MD, MBA

Tennessee

Oregon

Emily Touloukian, DO

South Carolina

Jeff Vacirca, MD, FACP New York

Erin Wylam, MBA