House Committee GOP Ranking Members Endorse Immediate Earmark Moratorium


WASHINGTON, D.C. (March 11, 2010) – The Ranking Republican Members of 10 committees of the U.S. House of Representatives issued the following statement today endorsing an immediate moratorium on earmarks for members of the Republican Conference:


“The American people are tired of out-of-control government spending, taxing, and borrowing. To earn back their trust, we need to immediately cut off the earmarks that have given Washington a bad name. Partial solutions are not enough. An immediate earmark moratorium is the only way to wipe the slate clean and allow us to start getting spending under control.”


Ranking Republican Members issuing the statement are:

·         Rep. Joe Barton (R-TX), Energy and Commerce Committee

·         Rep. David Dreier (R-CA), Rules Committee

·         Rep. Sam Graves (R-MO), Small Business Committee

·         Rep. Ralph Hall (R-TX), Science and Technology Committee

·         Rep. Pete Hoekstra (R-MI), Intelligence Committee

·         Rep. Darrell Issa (R-CA), Oversight and Government Reform Committee

·         Rep. John Kline (R-MN), Education and Labor Committee

·         Rep. Dan Lungren (R-CA), House Administration Committee

·         Rep. Howard P. “Buck” McKeon (R-CA), Armed Services Committee

·         Rep. Paul Ryan (R-WI), Budget Committee


# # #